Searching for simple

This week I put myself through the ringer trying to get back on track after being gone for a few days at a leadership institute (more on that later since it’s going to be a really big focus for my year of being intentional). I didn’t do an extensive search like I normally do to select my new recipes for the week, but somehow I managed to pick two that I’m absolutely going to make again.

Monday evening I was reminded of why I tend to plan for crock pot recipes at the beginning of the week. I went back and forth about which of my two planned recipes would be the fastest to whip up after spin class so that I wasn’t eating at 8:30 p.m. I settled on a one pot pasta with tomatoes, basil and chicken sausage since it appeared to require less of my attention.

I chose correctly — it was incredibly easy and quick to throw together. And it tasted delicious! I’ll admit I was a bit nervous since there wasn’t any sauce for it. I actually had a can of Italian style crushed tomatoes to throw in just in case. But somehow the tomatoes and basil come through to make it light and full of flavor. It didn’t pair quite as well with the fresh green beans….but they were on sale and they remind me of summer (which I’m more than ready for, at least weather wise).

one pot pasta

The leftovers weren’t quite as juicy but still good. Had I not reheated the leftovers at work, I might have added a bit of chicken broth or the diced tomatoes to it just so the pasta had a bit more liquid.

On Wednesday evening I made a dish that would have been perfect paired with pasta, though I’d talked myself out of the pasta part since I was having my one pot pasta leftovers for lunch.

Instead I paired the smothered chicken with mushroom gravy with vegetables, which seemed to work well. I’ve more or less given up on trying to cook chicken breasts on the stove while they’re whole. Instead it’s easier to cut them up into pieces — not only to eating it later, but also to ensure they’re fully cooked.

smothered chicken

The leftovers yesterday were just as good, and I ended up mixing it with the vegetables. I kept thinking it would all be fantastic mixed with pasta (almost like a stroganoff), so that’s my plan for the next time I make this recipe. I still can’t get over how delicious it was. Sometimes the simple and straight-forward really pays off!

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

One response to “Searching for simple

  1. Yes indeed. All looks yummy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 241 other followers

