Type A at it’s finest

I had a wild weekend, let me tell you. Actually, this weekend and upcoming week are quite an adrenaline rush for a Type A planner like myself. I’ve been trying to get my ducks in a row for the move and most of my weekend was decided to just that.

Friday started with a final trip to the grocery store before the move (I’m being intentional with how much I eat out this year and I don’t want to blow that too much during my move process). I also wanted to celebrate National Love Your Pet Day (side note: Lindsay had her first article as a freelancer on that very topic!) with a trip to the dog park. (Although truth be told, that was primarily to wear him out so he wasn’t so anxious as I packed boxes later…)

Hurley bear

After BodyCombat came dinner. I’m not sure if anyone knows (although my family is well aware) how much I love ham. Love it. It almost has the effect that turkey has from tryptophan. It’s comfort food at it’s finest for me.

Anywho, I had leftover ham and decided to make a one pan chicken cordon bleu pasta. This shows you how much I’ve had chicken cordon bleu (or love ham, I suppose) — when I was making my grocery list, I honestly stopped to think, “Wait, why do I need to get chicken? I’ve got ham.”

It’d been one of those weeks, my friends.

Thankfully the dish went off without a hitch. I added more ham than the recipe called for (and probably cheese since I didn’t measure that). For the broiling part, though, I switched the pasta to a casserole dish. The handle on my pan is wobbly and I didn’t trust it in the oven on broil. Plus this gives me a better way to store my leftovers. The broiling part definitely brings the whole dish together.

chicken cordon bleu

I also made another “dish” Friday night. My bananas were starting to turn mushy so I decided to bake some banana bread. Not the normal way, though. I opted for a crock pot banana bread.

There was a moment of hesitation before I started making it, though. I’d done a quick search on pinterest for crock pot banana bread, but I probably should have included the word healthy. Not that it would have made a huge difference, though. This was super easy to whip together. I also added cinnamon and oatmeal to the top for a bit more flavor.

I’ll confess I had an unnecessary moment of concern about putting the paper towel on before the crock pot lid. I’d never done that before and since I was leaving Hurley to go to the gym, I didn’t want there to be some freak accident. Thankfully all was safe when I returned home.

I’m not sure if it was the paper towel trick or the low setting on my crock pot is just super low, but it took a bit longer to bake than I thought. I started it around 4:30 and finally unplugged the crock pot at 10 p.m. The top was still a little doughy but the rest was cooked thoroughly and tasted delicious. (The missing piece was my way of making sure it was cooked all the way through.)

banana bread

I’ve got one more crock pot recipe on the docket for this evening to round out my meals for the week. There’s no doubt that this week will be brought to you by coffee and more Type A behavior!

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

