Mexican food mash-up

I don’t know what prompted my hankering for Mexican food given I (over)indulged in my favorite fajitas while I was in Columbia this past weekend. It certainly made grocery shopping and meal prep simpler, though, to have back-to-back Mexican dishes. Plus with the abnormally nice weather, I felt less inclined to make soups and comfort food (though that could be changing in the next few days…).

Monday night I combined two recipes. Or more accurately, I turned the cilantro-lime ranch burrito bowl into the burrito salad from Chipotle. That only came about because I’m not a huge fan of ranch so I pulled up a copycat recipe for Chipotle’s salad dressing. I’ve never had the dressing from Chipotle before, but I figured some type of dressing would make it different from my typical burrito bowls.

It took a bit longer to bring everything together (primarily because I was also chopping for my meal the next night), but I loved all the color and flavor. Very worth the effort. I did opt for red beans instead of black, and I’ve been putting banana peppers on everything it seems. De-licious!

Burrito salad

Even as leftovers, the salad burrito bowl kept its flavor and crispness. I’d definitely make this part of my rotation, particularly in the summer when homemade salsa is a staple.

The following night I pulled out my trusty crockpot to make cheesy enchilada quinoa. This was incredibly easy to throw together, and no modifications necessary. Plus the leftovers were just as delicious, if not better — particularly since I’d sprinkled sharp cheddar cheese on top. I also added some tortilla strips as well to give it some crunch.

quinoa enchilada

Tonight I finally did need a break from all the Mexican food I’ve been indulging in, but thankfully there aren’t many leftovers remaining. Time to start plotting my new dishes for next week!

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 241 other followers

