Variations on old recipes

I’m trying to get back into the routine of meal planning. Apparently I’d be just as likely to find an appetizing recipe on my blog as I am on pinterest, since both my recipes this week are variations of dishes I’ve already tried.

Sunday was a perfect crock pot day so I made beef and broccoli. I didn’t realize until I started this post that the previous beef and broccoli recipe I tried was essentially the same. Perhaps it means it could be a staple dish for me?

Like I mentioned in my post from April (my pre-Hurley days, which is mind-boggling to think about!), I love how simple it is. It literally takes 10 minutes of prep time, if that. I’m generally not a huge fan of stew meat, so I opted for a different cut of steak. And I added the broccoli in a little earlier than the recipe called for so it wasn’t quite so crunchy, if you will.

This one was also a little soupy, though that’s on me. I added a bit more beef broth than I should have since I had extra steak in there and I wanted to make sure the leftovers didn’t dry out too much. Had I followed the directions, I bet it would have been the perfect ratio.

beef broccoli

And two days later, I can vouch that it makes for great leftovers. This may have to be a staple dish for me after all!

Maybe it’s the weather, but I decided to go with another crock pot recipe tonight. And what better meal than soup when the high for tomorrow is supposed to be 1 degree? So sweet potato, chicken and quinoa soup it was! (As a side note, I’m pretty sure this blogger is going to be my go-to for meal planning. I was on her site for all of ten minutes and already have three recipes I want to try!)

This recipe reminded me of the sweet potato and quinoa turkey chili I fell in love with last year. Perhaps not surprisingly, then, I loved this soup. Like it was really, really hard to stop after one bowl.

I made two modifications, mostly from a lack of focus on my part. I ended up only using 4 cups of chicken broth (since that’s what the size of my container was) and didn’t peel the sweet potatoes. But otherwise everything else was super easy to throw together and the timing was perfect. I came back from the gym and it didn’t take long at all for me to warm up after being out in the cold.

soup

For dinner I actually paired it with some sweet potato tortilla chips I got on sale at the grocery store. It almost made me forget that it feels like 2 degrees outside (according to the weather channel) and is snowing. Almost. Thank goodness for great crock pot recipes!

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

One response to “Variations on old recipes

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

