New approach

You would think I wouldn’t be craving any comfort food after the holidays. And really, it wasn’t so much that I was craving it as I wanted an easy recipe. When I got back to Lincoln, the last thing I wanted to do was scour Pinterest for a healthy recipe. I mean, even Hurley was exhausted. (Not that he could sleep given he’s so damn cute when he’s tired and I can’t help but smother….)

Hurley

Given my lack of brain power, I instead opted to pick from the recipes I’d already pinned (imagine that!) and went with the first one that looked mildly appetizing: 30-minute skillet lasagna.

I loved how simple this recipe was. I saved a step (and hopefully some calories) by using Italian ground turkey (though let’s be honest, I still added in seasonings). It should almost be a disclaimer on my blog that nearly any recipe I try with ground beef will instead be used with ground turkey. Oh, and I added in mushrooms. It probably wouldn’t hurt to have another disclaimer that there’s a 97% chance that if it’s a pasta dish, I’m adding in mushrooms.

Mostly I loved that I didn’t have to boil the pasta separately. And it didn’t require quite the prep work that a lasagna does. I’ll admit I got a little impatient at the end. It doesn’t look fancy or overly appetizing in the skillet, but I didn’t care. It was nearing 8 p.m. and I was ready for dinner.

Skillet

It was absolutely worth the effort last night, though. I discovered I added a bit too much of the red pepper flakes, but there are certainly worse problems to have.

Lasagna

I actually think I prefer this to lasagna. This dish is a little less messy and I loved how all the cheeses blend in with the pasta sauce. Technically it wouldn’t need to be made with the skillet approach, but I do love that I don’t have to boil the pasta separately. It makes cooking and cleanup a little bit easier. Although it’s probably not a good thing that I’ve got a simplified go-to recipe for great comfort food…

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

