Quick meals for fall

I didn’t think it was possible, but this week I didn’t make anything with pumpkin in it — despite it being the week of Halloween!

Part of it is because I didn’t spend quite the same amount of time that I normally do trying to find recipes for the week. I settled pretty quickly on a fast and easy chicken chili. Guilty confession: I primarily wanted to try it because it had cream cheese in it. A little strange and probably makes it unhealthy, but it was mighty good.

The big change is that I didn’t cook it in a crockpot since mine is relatively small. Even on the stove, though, it was still pretty quick and easy. I did mix up the bean selection since that’s how I make normally chili and also threw in crush red pepper along with a few other seasonings. Aside from that, I more or less followed the recipe as is. It’s definitely a good way to switch up typical white chicken chili, though I’ll probably have to try to limit how much frequently I make it…

Chili

In an attempt to balance that out just a tad, I’ve opted to eat a harvest cobb salad for dinners this week. There were some variations in what I put on the salad just based on availability in my kitchen and at the grocery store (so sadly no pears and goat cheese). I was primarily interested in trying the dressing since I love experimenting with new ones. It’s a little odd having a mayo based dressing, but I don’t know that you can go wrong with a dressing that incorporates apple cider vinegar. Especially in the fall.

Salad

Both recipes were definitely fitting with the weather (apparently) starting to transition to late fall/early winter this week. Let’s just hope my tough skin comes back out for a Nebraska winter or it could be a very, very long season.

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

