Easy fall baking

You’d think at some point I’d stop giving into fall baked goods… Not so much. If anything, I find myself getting more excited about trying fall dishes.

My weekend started with a low-fat pumpkin sheet cake. Not only is it simple, but it’s incredibly delicious. For the life of me (and by that I mean I visited three stores before calling it quits), I couldn’t find pumpkin spice jello mix. Instead I opted to use what was left of my cheesecake mix and added in some pumpkin pie flavoring. It seemed to do the trick.

I was a little nervous about storing it since the frosting is made with whipped cream and almond milk. Playing it safe, I decided to keep it in the fridge. It makes it a surprisingly good pumpkin bar. The frosting isn’t quite as thick as I’d like, but I’m guessing it’s because I didn’t use a whole jello packet. (Part of it isn’t frosted since the middle isn’t a huge fan of frosting, and goodness knows I don’t need to eat this entire thing by myself.)

pumpkin cake

Although I love the pumpkin treats, I figured I would need a slightly healthier snack option this week. Enter the cinnamon apple chips. It turned out to be another super easy yet delicious recipe. I’d probably prefer to make it on a colder day so it’s more comforting to have the oven on for that long, but the way it made my house smell was worth it. I came in from walking Hurley and it smelled like I had an apple pie in the oven. It’s like having a double win since this is a much healthier option compared to apple pie.

apple chips

It’s a good thing the weather is holding up for me to get Hurley out on long walks or all this fall food would really be taking its toll on me…

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

2 responses to “Easy fall baking

  1. Thanks for sharing my Apple Chips. I’m so glad you liked them. I don’t know about you, but they certainly didn’t last long in my house. 😉

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

