My intentional focus

I realized the other day that, although I talked about intentional living being a main purpose of my blog, I think that was the first time I’ve really mentioned it for those who were with me pre-#intentionalblogging challenge.

To be honest, it’s a newer theme emerging in my life that (spoiler alert) will likely become my word for 2015 (it seems a little too early to think about that, but I’m sure it will be here before we know it). It keeps showing up in all that I do, and that now includes my blog.

It started about a month ago when I came across this article about finding your life purpose. I’ll confess I didn’t read the entire thing or care for portions of it, but this particular statement has honestly stuck with me ever since:

So when people say, “What should I do with my life?” or “What is my life purpose?” what they’re actually asking is: “What can I do with my time that is important?”

Finally! A more practical and less daunting way to look at it! And it couldn’t be more true. Really I’m trying to decide what I can do with my free time that’s meaningful. I also appreciate what Jon Acuff wrote in his book Start, “…I’m not a fan of ‘finding your purpose.’ I’m a fan of ‘living with purpose.'” Seems to be a much more useful way to spend my time.

That same sentiment showed up a few days later when I was at the kick-off for the leadership institute. During our three days there and also the conference call I mentioned last week, we continually talked about being intentional in our professional and personal lives. Does what you do and say match what you’re about? Do we spend time doing the things that matter? (Obviously it was stated a bit more eloquently and with lots of research and examples to back it up…)

I’ve loved daring myself this year. Here it is, the middle of October, and I still can’t fully wrap my mind around how much life has changed this year. Some changes were gradual and some literally happened overnight (Hurley, for example). It’s been a period of growth, adjustment, excitement and, quite honestly, some exhaustion.

All of these things are fantastic. I’ve said yes to opportunities that I would normally shy away from, both personally and professionally. While all of that has been wonderful, I also feel like I’m reaching a point where I can focus on being more intentional than daring. Instead of being involved a little bit in a lot of things, I want to reserve it and spend my time and energy on the things I love.

Some of that will require some introspection. I need to figure out what I find to be important in my life before I can fully dedicate my time, energy and efforts to those things. Plus it expands beyond activities. It also impacts my choices, attitudes, communication, etc. Is what I’m doing and saying matching the type of person that I want to be? Or is there a disconnect?

Deep stuff. But that’s why I give myself a whole year to focus on it (though I seem to be starting this intentional thing a bit early).

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

One response to “My intentional focus

  1. Pingback: 2015: Living with intention | Life After School

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

