Transition to fall (food)

Although I’m still in denial about the fact that soon I have to put away my sandals and wear a jacket, I generally love this time of year. I love the colors, the anticipation of the holiday season and, naturally, the food.

Before I fully made that transition, I wanted to try a recipe that seemed to be a bit more summery. On Thursday evening I made lemon raspberry muffins. I was surprised by how thick the dough was, and I actually contemplated making it into bread instead of muffins. But, since I wanted them for the car ride back to South Dakota the next day, I stuck with muffins.

They weren’t as moist as I thought they’d be, but still delicious. The middle thinks adding butter would do the trick, so I may try that next time. And I would likely add a bit more lemon, though that could just be my taste. Otherwise theĀ raspberries were perfect. Definitely a great snack at work in the morning and for the afternoon car ride.

muffins

Speaking of muffins, last week on instagram one of the regulars from my kickboxing class in Columbia commented on my pumpkin muffin photo that she adds pumpkin to chili. Hello! I’d recently seen something on pinterest, too, so I knew I had to try it this week.

It was hard to narrow down which recipe to use as a base, but ultimately I settled on this one. I went with the ground turkey and also added a few more types of beans, since the middle’s six-bean chili is top notch. I didn’t include the chili sauce, primarily because I hadn’t done it before and I always picture using that with shrimp. I thought I’d keep it simple and just stick with what I knew I liked (pumpkin).

After throwing it all together, my house smelled so fantastic. I probably could have let it simmer a bit longer, but I couldn’t help myself. It looked too delicious.

chili

It’s almost hard to explain what it tastes like. I think it’s moreso that I smell the pumpkin, as it doesn’t have that strong of a flavor in the chili. The best way I can think to describe it is it’d be like eating a bowl of chili in a Starbucks after they’ve whipped up a pumpkin spice latte. So essentially heaven for me. I’m definitely going to enjoy my leftovers this week.

You’d think after awhile I’d be over my pumpkin fix between my coffees, muffins and chili. Not so much, as you’ll find out later this week…

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

