Plan P(umpkin)

It’s a good thing I (unintentionally) had a backup plan.

The other night I decided to try a new recipe that I didn’t think was all that risky. Perhaps I should have been nervous about a hasbrown, spinach and tomato pie, but I love all of those things. I thought it would almost be like a caprese bake with hashbrowns. Or like a skillet with different toppings.

Wrong.

And I can tell you where it went wrong, too. First, the amount of egg was ridiculous. I get that that’s what you need to make it all stick together so it’s like a pie (at least that’s what I do with spaghetti pie)…but four eggs? It was overkill. And that was after I doubled the amount of hashbrowns in the recipe. I can only imagine how much the eggs would dominate if I’d only used two cups.

The other mistake (at least from my perspective) was nutmeg. It seemed a little strange for a seasoning but I thought I’d give it a shot, especially since it wasn’t a ton. I probably could have tolerated it had it not been for the egg overload. Two bites in and I’d had enough.

hashbrown

Feeling hungry and frustrated at 8 p.m. on Monday night, I turned to something I knew I loved: whole wheat pumpkin muffins. Who needs dinner when you can have two muffins and greek yogurt?

pumpkin muffins

I was thankful I made those suckers on Sunday evening. They were the perfect snack (or dinner in my case) for fall, although I do love all things pumpkin. The chocolate chips definitely add to it. One slightly bad thing is that they started to turn yesterday, so they’re only good for about three days (thankfully I handed some off to the middle). Had I not doubled the recipe, though (I didn’t want to have half a can of pumpkin leftover), it would have been perfect.

At least once recipe turned out well for me this week!

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

4 responses to “Plan P(umpkin)

  1. I really am so sorry this didn’t turn out for you. I have made it many times and it’s always perfect. Perhaps using a bit of salt and pepper, to taste, would have helped it out a bit. The nutmeg adds a bit of spice, and if you have ever made anything with a custard-base, it almost always requires a pinch of nutmeg. Also, talking badly about a co-blogger’s recipe on your own site goes against all “rules” of blogging. But thank you for the link-love.

    • dakotalizzie

      Thanks for commenting! I still love the concept of your recipe so I’ll likely give it another shot. I was probably too quick to judge because it wasn’t what I expected (something more along the lines of spaghetti pie). My co-worker thought it sounded like a fabulous breakfast dish and is going to give it a shot this weekend.

  2. I have definitely had some recipe fails, so this makes me smile 🙂 Your muffins looks awesome though.

  3. The muffins look wonderful! Sounds like a great dinner plan to me.

    I’m with you on the nutmeg. Not a fan.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

