Putting canned soup to shame

I made a soup on Monday night that I literally can’t get enough of (like it was really hard to have only one bowl when I made it, but I had to remain firm given it was 8:30 p.m. by the time I was eating dinner). I think I’ve had a comparable type canned soup, but this puts it to absolute shame (not that that’s hard to do…).

Given I traveled a lot in September, it meant a lot of eating out and my palate seemed non-existent. I wasn’t craving anything, and even when I decided to make the sweet italian sausage soup, I wasn’t expecting anything great. It was just a simple meal to bring to work that didn’t have a lot of carbs and included kale.

Prep was pretty minimal, which I always appreciate (particularly now that I don’t want to risk spilling or damaging my new counter in any way shape or form). I did swap italian ground turkey for the sausage, saving me a bit of time. The rest was all about opening cans (including cannellini beans) and dicing. Even as I was mixing and stirring, I wasn’t sold on it.

Then after it simmered and all the spices/flavors blended together, it was a perfect fall meal. During my first few bits, I may have even looked at Hurley with a surprised looked because I really just didn’t anticipate it being as great as it was. It’s almost as if it was a blend of chili and the turkey sausage, kale and white bean soup I discovered last year.

italian soup

I wish the photo did it justice. I’m half tempted to start googling how to take better photos of my meals for my blog…but people already think I’m strange if they’re having a meal with me and I keep snapping photos. Hopefully my writing at least conveys how fantastic it was. It’s very likely that this is going to end up in my fall/winter rotation of meals.

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

