New pride and joy

I have been anxiously waiting to blog about my new pride and joy (no offense to Hurley)!

My entertainment center used to be my favorite piece of furniture in the house. And how could it not be given how the pink stands out and the blood, sweat and tears the middle and I put into it one weekend? But this weekend I finally got to put in a new favorite. Like I’m seriously in love with this thing. I grinned like an idiot each time I saw it.

But first, the back story.

One of the minor downsides to the house I’m renting is the kitchen is relatively small. When I toured it, the owners had a table that gave them more counter space. I knew I was going to have to do something similar since I not only need the counter space, but also the storage space (my food processor, crock pot and extra coffee items were being stored on the stairs leading up to my attic… Whatever works, right?).

I wanted to find something that fit the space, which proved to be a difficult task. There was also an added problem in that I didn’t just want a folding table because I preferred built-in storage. And naturally everything that seemed like a remote possibility ended up being too big, too expensive or just didn’t fit my style.

Enter the middle’s boyfriend’s uncle. He became my favorite person in Lincoln.

About a year ago Uncle Buck made the addition to the middle’s old entertainment center to convert it into a wine rack. The middle said he might be willing to create a counter for me, so I jumped at the chance. After I found a few options on pinterest that caught my eye (this was the main inspiration), the middle create a fantastic 3-D graphic with the dimensions and handed it off to the craftsman to work his magic.

Two weeks later, I had this baby.

counter1

Gorgeous, right?! I swooned. But it gets better.

A week or two later I got to stain it. The oak wood looked so gorgeous with the special walnut stain (that’s just the name of the stain — it’s not specially made or anything). Although I thought about trying to find a stain that matched the kitchen and wood flooring, I decided to instead just find a color that I liked. Chances are this counter is going to be with me far longer than my rental home.

After applying a few coats of polyurethane last Monday night, I had a long waiting period for it to dry (thankfully I was out of town for work so that distracted me pretty well…). Then Thursday evening, I got to pick up my new piece of furniture.

craftsman

Ever since then, I can’t stop admiring it. In part it’s because I’ve been trying to figure out what works in terms of functionality and looks. I’m in search of a placemat to put under the microwave, and may do something similar for the fruit bowl (I’m super protective of the wood surface). The baskets were a lucky find on Friday night. I got the last three at the store AND they were on sale!

To say I love it is an understatement. And I’m not joking when I say it more than doubles my counter space. That alone is worth it (though I refuse to prep any food on it just yet. Like I said, being super protective…).

Kitchen

Mostly, though, I love that it breaks up all the white and makes my house feel even more homey. Between the entertainment center, dining room chairs, pallet shelf and now the counter, it’s definitely a Liz house. Lots of color and uniquely created home decor. And the fact that it’s all functional and aids in my Type A organization doesn’t hurt either.

Seriously. Just look at this hand-crafted beauty!

counter

A huge thanks goes out to Uncle Buck. He and his wife were so welcoming throughout the whole process. Plus, in addition to creating this masterpiece, he stuck with me through the final steps (it was my first time staining, which I discovered I prefer to painting) and was so wonderful to spend time with as I worked on the finished touches in his garage.

Lucky for me that not only did I get a fabulous product, but I also got to know fabulous people. Does it get better than that?

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

2 responses to “New pride and joy

  1. Pingback: Intentional living space | Life After School

  2. Pingback: Going and going and going | Life After School

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

