Skinny swap

I was so proud of myself last week because instead of going to get Chinese, I decided to stick with my meal plan of whipping up a skinny manicotti recipe. Sadly I can’t vouch for the leftovers because I’ve been a little less proud of myself since then, but it’s the little wins, right?

It surprised me (in a good way) that it was relatively easy to make. While the noodles cooked, I mixed up the spinach filling. I also decided to throw in mushrooms, not only because I had them on hand, but because I wanted something with a bit more substance. I’ve been hit or miss with leftovers that have spinach and hoped the mushrooms would help. And I’ll confess I didn’t pay too much attention to whether the pasta sauce was sugar-free like the recipe calls for (which is probably which makes it a skinny recipe…oops!). It was just easier to go with what I already had on hand.

The stuffing didn’t take as long as I thought. I didn’t follow the direction and use a gallon size bag. Instead I just spooned it in, which could be what caused most of the mess. It would probably help to let the manicotti noodles dry up a bit, but I was impatient (probably another source of the mess…).

2014-09-17 19.50.13-2

Thankfully it proved to be worth the time and, more importantly, the slight mess. Especially with the cheese broiled on top at the end, the skinny manicotti dish looked and tasted delicious.

2014-09-17 20.17.05

Although I liked the recipe, I’m not entirely sure I’d make this again. If I do, I’ll likely throw in some ground turkey or swap out the cottage cheese for ricotta cheese. I’m sure that’s another swap that makes this a skinny dish, and I didn’t think it would bother me all that much since that’s how my mom has always made lasagna. With this dish it just didn’t seem to hit the spot, though. Hopefully by the end of the day I can say whether the leftovers hold up (granted I made this on Wednesday night so I might be less inclined to really enjoy them at this point).

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

