A week of normalcy

Despite the typical doldrums of a Sunday evening, I’m breathing a sigh of relief for the upcoming week. Hurley and I won’t know what to do with ourselves! Last week (naturally when I was out of town) was the last session for my community education yoga class on Monday night and the chronic disease self-management class I was teaching on Wednesday nights.

Compared to what it’s been for the last few weeks, my schedule looks surprisingly empty (and it’s very needed). This freedom, however, left me feeling a little overwhelmed when it came to meal planning. I didn’t have to plan out the distribution of my leftovers as extensively as I’ve had to in the last couple months. It was also strange knowing I had two extra nights during the week to actually cook a meal instead of having salad or cereal.

Complicating matters a bit is that I really wanted to get back on track with healthy eating. Last week I spent four days in Atlanta for work, and sadly workouts in a hotel gym don’t even come close to canceling out the food indulgences.

(As an aside, I had a total fangirl moment when I got to the CDC for our grantee meeting/conference. And you can about imagine my excitement at being in a room to network and brainstorm with dozens of evaluators, where I was introduced to this accurate graphic).

evaluator

Although the trip was a great learning experience and full of fabulous food, I came back feeling not so healthy after lots of cheat meals, if you will. My goal for this week was to find recipes that would give me the comfort food I was craving without all the carbs and calories. I knew I was taking a slight risk with spaghetti squash carbonara, but it seemed to fit the bill.

I was thankful for a relatively straight-forward recipe. Actually, I think what complicated the prep process were my own additions of onions and peas, since that’s generally what I think of when I picture carbonara. I couldn’t get the bacon to be quite as crispy as I was hoping (perhaps because it was turkey bacon?) but in the end, I must say I was pleasantly, pleasantly surprised with how the dish turned out.

carbonara

It’s definitely a dish I’ll be making again, especially since it only requires me to pick up a few ingredients. It almost made me chuckle to think of how often I’ve been eating spaghetti squash in the last few months. Who would have thought the girl who initially blogged about not caring for it now makes it two or three times a month?

At least the week is off to a good start. This girl is definitely ready to get back into a routine. Maybe that will help convince Hurley he doesn’t need to be my shadow (although let’s be honest, it’s incredibly sweet and endearing).

Hurley

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

