Accomplished summer goals

School is apparently back in session and I suppose that technically marks the end of summer (not that you’d be able to tell based on the weather the last week or two). Although last week I posted about the notion that life isn’t about adding experiences to your life list or resume, I still felt like I should “report out” on my summer activities. Besides, it’s been a draft post I’ve updated all summer held me accountable the last few months.

I have to say, I really enjoyed the new approach I took for my summer goals. Trying 12 new things throughout the summer was much more manageable and I didn’t have to go all OCD to get it accomplished. And surprisingly, I got pretty close to doing almost one new activity each week.

So what did my summer consist of in terms of personal growth (aka: my 30 Before 30 List and #100fitdays challenge) and getting to know Lincoln?

  1. Joined the American Evaluation Association (June 5). And from that I got to participate in an eStudy course on becoming an evaluation consultant. Double win!
  2. Attended a Salt Dogs baseball game (June 13).
  3. Started volunteering with the Alzheimer’s Association (June 18).
  4. Attended a Meetup group meeting for 20s and 30s young professionals (June 25).
  5. Tried a BodyPump class (July 7). I could barely move the next day, but I’ve been going to the class once a week (in part because the instructor now knows me and holds me accountable…)
  6. Took a eight-week Intro to Yoga class (July 14). I still suck at it but it’s surprisingly done wonders for my hips.
  7. Took a community education class on feng shui (July 17). Technically it wasn’t my first community ed class, but the other two have been activity based, making it feel like a gym class.
  8. Went canoeing with the middle on the Elkhorn River (July 25).
  9. Started teaching a new session of Living Well, which is Nebraska’s chronic disease self-management program (July 30).
  10. Toured Pioneers Park (August 3). Seeing a real moose was incentive enough for me to go back. So many trails to explore with Hurley (though he gets a little too excited thinking it’s like the dog park and advocates to run free).
  11. Fell in love with a new coffee shop (August 5). It’s a little out of my way in the morning, but once I got a free large coffee out of it!
  12. Tried a class at the zumba studio in town (August 16).

I should almost include the three trips to the vet that I took this summer (which technically took place in just the last eight weeks…). Some aspects of summer (namely bees and pollen) apparently got the better of my little guy.

Aside from those minor incidents, though, I have to say that summer was a smashing success. I’m feeling more comfortable in my new city, with my job and being Hurley’s mama. Although it still feels like there aren’t enough hours in the day, I certainly made the most of them.

Summer2014

The best part is that fall is right around the corner, and that’s undoubtedly my favorite time of year. In fact, I’ve already got another list started that includes picking apples and going to the pumpkin patch. Plus I can’t forget that I’ve got four months left of daring myself (side note: best theme and year ever!). There’s still so much to experience and explore!

But for now, I’m going to snuggle with Hurley (perk of the vet: medicine makes him cuddly) and listen to the rain. I’ve earned some relaxation after a few busy weeks.

 

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

One response to “Accomplished summer goals

  1. Sounds like you had a great summer. I saw a buffalo when I went backpacking on Catalina Island, but seeing a moose would be awesome! Fall is my favorite too 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

