Down with taco meat

I’ve apparently been on a Mexican food kick these last few weeks. After tonight’s delicious dinner, I almost feel like I need to retract (at least a little bit) all my black bean love. From black bean tacos to black bean casseroles, I’ve been singing their praises (which, believe me, isn’t normal).

Not tonight. Tonight I’m singing the praises of carnitas. And more specifically, Chipotle copycat carnita burrito.

This has been on my radar all summer but I couldn’t commit to the amount of food it yielded. Needless to say, I finally caved (and will likely be eating it for more meals than I care to think about right now, but that could just be the full belly talking).

Although it’s a crockpot recipe, I knew the pork wasn’t going to fit in my pint-size crockpot. I tried to trim most of the fat and cut up the pork into smaller sections in hopes of getting it to fit. Factor in the diced tomatoes and beef broth, though, and I knew it was going to lead to a mess. Instead I cooked it on the stovetop, and on medium heat, it was done in slightly more than an hour.

carnitas

With the exception of the whole not-using-a-crockpot thing, I can’t say I made any real modifications to the recipe. I did add a lot more seasonsings and made sure to season the pork before browning it. It packed a lot of flavor without being too much.

Paired with the Chipotle cilantro lime rice and the corn salsa I made with my black bean tacos a couple months ago, I had the perfect burrito bowl.

burrito bowl

Normally I’m not one to get carnita burritos from Chiptole, but I may be a convert. And surprisingly, I didn’t miss the cheese or sour cream I would normally add to my burrito bowl. I can’t tell if it’s because I felt it already had enough flavor (my carnitas probably had more sauce than I typically get at Chipotle) or just because I didn’t have sour cream in my fridge anyway.

This dish was definitely worth trying. Next time I’ll probably aim to have company just so I don’t have quite the amount of leftovers I have, though I may surprise myself and still be craving it at the end of the week. Only time will tell!

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

