Adding to a favorite

It was no secret how much I loved the southwest black bean casserole. I decided to take it a step further with the southwestern quinoa and black bean casserole. There’s just something about the beans (the consistency, the pop of flavor thanks to the jalapeno) that keeps me hooked on these casseroles.

As with the initial casserole, I nixed the peppers and instead put tomatoes and corn on top. I did have a slight scare in that I didn’t measure how much quinoa I had. I dumped in the last of the bag, and unfortunately it was just short of what I needed for the recipe. The quinoa was a bit soggy, which impacted the casserole a bit, but not to the extent I thought it would thanks to all the seasonings and mix of flavors. Plus it got much better with the leftovers.

Casserole

I couldn’t resist throwing on the tortilla strips again, which offers a really great crunch. I’ve got two servings of leftovers remaining so I may also try using it as taco filling.

casserole 2

I’ll likely go back to the standard black bean casserole and/or perhaps try adding a cilantro lime rice. While I liked the quinoa, I wasn’t over the moon about it. It makes it seem more like burrito bowls I’ve made in the past, and at that rate, I prefer rice. Regardless of whether it’s a burrito bowl or casserole, though, I’ve definitely found a new way to make black beans!

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

