Basil bright

Where has the time gone?!

I made these dishes a week ago and am just now sitting down to blog about them. Apparently that’s a slight downside to having instagram — instead of blogging, I can post the photo once it comes out of the oven and call it good. But instagram doesn’t always capture my recipe modifications (or wit and charm) nor will it get me to my 500-post goal from my 30 Before 30 list (I’m only 75 posts away!).

But that’s neither here nor there. On to the recipes…

Last Monday I made baked caprese rigatoni. By the time I ate it for the fourth of fifth time, I was a little less in love with it. Initially, though, it was great. What helped is that the middle and I went to the farmer’s market the day before (it’s about homemade salsa time!) so I had fresh basil and local tomatoes as well.

Like the recipe suggested, I used diced tomatoes, fresh tomatoes and my own sauce of tomato paste and water. It was definitely a good mix so that it had more flavor than it would with just fresh tomatoes, but those make it seem a little less processed. I thought about adding italian ground turkey or chicken, which I think would have added a bit more to the leftovers. Otherwise it’s the cheese that really sold it for me.

Baked rigatonni

I’d planned to make the mozzarella, basil and corn quesadilla later in the week but didn’t want the basil to go bad before then. As a result, the very next night I decided to whip one up and was pleasantly surprised by how quickly I was able to make dinner. The downside? My quesadillas are not at all pretty.

I do wish this had a bit more flavor. The basil definitely stands out and the cheese holds it all together…but for some reason the tomatoes and corn didn’t pop for me. I’m not sure if adding salsa or black beans would do the trick or not. It was definitely worth a shot, but it’s not something I’m itching to make again.

Quesadilla

Although I loved fresh basil, I think I hit my quota for the month. At least it had lots of fresh flavor and color. And it’s got me back on a Mexican kick, so stay tuned for this week’s new recipe!

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

One response to “Basil bright

  1. wow! this looks amazing! thanks for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

