Recycled recipes

I’m surprised how much I’ve come to enjoy grocery shopping after work on Friday afternoon. Though by this point in the week I start to run low on fresh fruits…

I realized that the two recipes I tried this week are variations of dishes I’ve tried in the past. The first was a chili mac recipe, perhaps aimed at recapturing my love of the sweet potato quinoa chili from last week. (And truth be told, I was somewhat craving the homemade cheeseburger helper but didn’t think that would bode as well with my health kick.)

While I was at the store, I decided to improvise a bit with the ingredients. Instead of getting a can of stewed tomatoes and a can of green chili peppers, which I would only use 2 tablespoons of for the recipe, I instead bought crushed tomatoes with green chili peppers. I’d also opted for ground turkey instead of ground beef since I prefer the flavor and also because it was slightly cheaper. Double win for me!

Chili mac

The other recipe was like a merger of two recipes — pull-apart pizza bread and taco/enchilada bake. It’s essentially as though I made the enchilada bake but replaced the tortillas with biscuit dough. I wasn’t quite as adventurous with this one, other than adding black beans and realizing that I forgot to throw in onions. But it made for quick fix that packs a lot of flavor (in part aided by throwing in cumin, red pepper flakes and taco seasoning).

Although it’s probably not as healthy as the whole wheat tortilla shells I’d generally use, I almost prefer using the biscuits. The tortillas have the tendency to become soggy almost because of the sauce and I don’t think the leftovers are as appetizing. Plus I just love biscuits.

bubble up enchilada

While both recipes were really simple and are proving to make for great leftovers, it’s steered me away from my salads and proteins. Hopefully I’ll get back on track soon enough. After the 4th of July festivities, of course.

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

