Fishy start

For whatever reason, I’ve been craving tuna noodle casserole. Given I’m still on a health kick (side note: kale smoothies surprisingly rock), I thought I’d at least find a somewhat healthier option and settled on this recipe.

As I was mixing it together on Monday night (where does the time go?!), I was admittedly nervous. My version of tuna noodle casserole is typically noodles, cream of chicken, tuna and any veggies (so not all that fancy). It’s entirely possible people could use mayo, dijon mustard and/or sour cream in their tuna noodle casserole…but I doubt that.

By the time everything was mixed and ready to be put into the oven, it seemed like it should have been a summer pasta salad dish (probably because of the mayo). Needless to say, I was starting to worry I may have wasted all those ingredients on something I was probably going to throw away after a couple of servings.

Imagine my surprise when I couldn’t get enough of this. The girl who normally hates eating casserole leftovers only has two servings left. I think it has something to do with the cheese, but I think the mix for the sauce/dressing is what keeps it from drying out too much.

Tuna noodle

I’m torn on whether I’d make this again (in part because I’d have to be craving it again but likely wouldn’t need to make an entire bath). But I was surprised by how many people at work commented on how good it smelled (slightly strange for tuna noodle casserole) and asked for the recipe. Not bad for a recipe I was thinking I’d have to toss out after a day or two!

 

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

