Thankful Thursday #14

I meant to post this last Thursday but it managed to get buried in my queue of posts. It was Lindsay’s big move yesterday that actually prompted me to finish writing this, in part because what she’s going through is exactly what I’ve been thankful for the last couple of weeks. I’m thankful for home and, perhaps more importantly, for progress.

There’s a great quote I’ve always loved about change: “It’s a funny thing coming home. Nothing changes. Everything looks the same, feels the same, even smells the same. You realize what’s changed, is you.”

This couldn’t have been more true for me the weekend before last. It wasn’t until I got home that I realized I hadn’t been there in six months, which I think is the longest amount of time I’ve been away from home since I left for college nearly ten years ago. Once I got there (and the excitement of four dogs subsided a bit), I hung my purse on the banister and, out of nowhere, I wondered how many times I must have thrown a purse or backpack or coat in that very spot. How many times had I walked through the front door of the house where my family has been since I was in first grade? There were a few home decor changes, but otherwise it felt the same. Comfortable. Calming.

Yet I couldn’t shake a feeling about how much I’d changed. The last time I was home, I wasn’t in a particularly great place. I was reeling from a hard job rejection and unsure of what the future held for me. It didn’t feel like luck was on my side. At all.

But it was while I was home that the job posting for my current position was released, and the rest is history. Who could have predicted that six month later, I’d be in an entirely different place in my life and bringing home my favorite plus one? (Be impressed we got a photo of the labrador trio. The golden is a little camera-shy so we didn’t want to push our luck including her.)

Three labs

Granted, the road to progress wasn’t always easy. Exciting, yes. But also scary, emotional and overwhelming. Two of my friends from Missouri recently moved, and it’s been interesting to view it from the other side, if you will. It’s only after the fact that you can look back and realize that it was exactly the change that you needed. Week after week, I continue to get “confirmation” that I’m exactly where I’m supposed to be and that all the struggle was worth it. Even the little commented that I’m not at all like the person I was a year ago. And for that, I’m incredibly thankful.

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

