Baking commitment

For the first time, I think my end product/recipe did a dish justice!

Last night I decided to make spicy sausage and eggplant spaghetti bake. The downside of the dish (and thus why I made it on Saturday) is that it does take time to put together. The eggplant bakes for 30 minutes, and during that time you have to whip up the other elements. Then once that’s done, you bake it for 25 minutes or so. In total, it takes slightly more than an hour from start to finish (which seems like quite the commitment for a girl who has been relying on crock pot dishes lately…).

This was my first time cooking with eggplant, and truth be told, I’m not sure that it adds too much to the dish (ergo, the search for an eggplant dish continues!). I wasn’t able to find a good italian/spicy turkey or chicken sausage at the grocery store, so instead I opted for smoked turkey sausage. That probably impacted the level of spiciness (in that there wasn’t much) but I can’t say it was a bad substitution.

The sauce was also something I changed, though this was an intentional switch. I didn’t want to just used a jar of spaghetti sauce, so instead I started with diced tomatoes with italian seasoning (similar to what I used for last week’s recipe). I did add a bit more spaghetti sauce prior to baking it, but I didn’t want that to be the base of the sauce.

Once it was all said and done, I had a pretty good looking (and tasty) spaghetti bake. It’s not quite as good as the middle’s spaghetti pie, but it’s not a bad substitute. Plus it was a good first introduction to cooking with eggplant.

Eggplant bake

I haven’t fully followed my goal of making dishes less carb heavy, but if I enjoy it as leftovers, then it’s a win in my book. We’ll find out tomorrow at lunch if it’s a winner or not.

 

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

