Hostess with the mostess

For the second time Hurley hosted weekend company, but this time he was introduced to Lindsay and her chocolate labrador cousin Miley. We (Lindsay and I, that is) got some much-needed time to catch up, relax and enjoy the gorgeous weather. We even managed to wear the pups out with a few walks.

Hurley and Miley

Since Hurley has quite a bit of energy that can be unwelcome at times for other dogs, we decided to stay in and grill out on Friday instead of going out for dinner. I whipped up our favorite Hawaiian turkey burgers and we also had corn on the cob (we are in the cornhusker state, after all).

I couldn’t let an opportunity pass me by to try a new recipe, though. I spotted a tomato basil quinoa salad on pinterest Friday morning that I thought might work well (and also bought chips and guacamole in the event this failed miserably).

The recipe was quick enough to prepare before company arrived. I didn’t realize until after I cooked the quinoa that it was Mediterranean flavored, so it already had onion, pepper and lemon seasonings. I didn’t want to take the time to pull out my food processor, so I nixed the spinach and just cut up the fresh basil (I knew I’d want that flavor in there). It doesn’t look overly appetizing, but it fit the bill for a summer side dish.

tomato basil quinoa

I may actually be tempted to whip this up again with a few modifications. I love tomato basil pasta salads, and this is a slightly healthier take. I’d likely nix the dressing of it to keep the flavors more simple — which is saying something for me.

Overall, successful dish but an even more successful weekend.

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

