Misunderstanding

Two minor confessions about this cooking experience.

One, I didn’t try this recipe while it was fresh. On Sunday night, crockpot pork chops and scalloped potatoes seemed like a solid home-cooked meal. As time went on, I got more nervous about the outcome and I gave the middle and her boyfriend an escape clause. Being impatient and hungry…we ended up going out.

Two, once I got home, I googled scalloped potatoes to make sure I wasn’t crazy. Growing up I used to loved scalloped potatoes, and it seemed really weird to me that this recipe didn’t have any cheese. That’s what I really remember liking about scalloped potatoes.

Thankfully I wasn’t crazy and the next day I sprinkled cheese on top of the potatoes to make it seem more true to form. It probably makes sense not to put it in the crockpot, since I’m not sure how well it would work with the porkchops.But I couldn’t resist once they were separated.

The middle and I both agreed that as leftovers it wasn’t bad. The potatoes get old fast, though. The consistency of it almost reminded me of potato soup, so after a few bites it wasn’t all that enjoyable. I also just wasn’t very excited about the lack of color. Thank goodness for the steamed broccoli!

Porkchop

Not necessarily a meal I’d make again, but at least I tried. I really need to find a recipe that will wow people again…

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

