It’s a boy!

Today I crossed a BIG item off my 30 Before 30 / life goals list.

You’re looking at the proud mama of a very adorable yellow labrador. Meet Hurley, an energetic, affectionate almost five-year-old.

Hurley1

When I started housing hunting for my move two months ago, one of my priorities was finding a place that would allow dogs. And not just any dog, but a large dog (my sighs of exasperation grew louder with each rental property that would only allow dogs that were less than 25 pounds). To say I lucked out with my current rental house is an understatement, and once I moved it was only a matter of time until I found a dog to call my own.

About two weeks ago, the woman who found the middle’s dog contacted her. She knew I was in the market for a dog and put a bug in the middle’s ear about a yellow lab who needed a home. I swooned over the photo of Hurley and put in my application the next day.

A couple days later I got an update that it sounded like the family was going to go with an applicant who was going to turn him into a therapy dog. My heart broke a little, but as the middle reminded me, at least he was going to a good home. I continued on with my search, scouring various shelters in the area.

Imagine my surprise when I got a call on Thursday that the owners wanted to meet me! We set up a time to meet yesterday afternoon, and I made sure the middle and my little doggie niece were there to make sure it was a good fit. Two hours later, I called the parents to let them know they now had a grandson pup.

My heart is breaking a little for his previous owners. I can only imagine how hard it was to give their dog to another home. I’m just so thankful they picked me to take extra special care of this sweet labrador who thinks he’s a lap dog.

Hurley

I’ve probably got my work cut out for me, but he will undoubtedly be worth it!

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

