Old stomping grounds

What. A. Week.

It’s been a good week, mind you, but it’s exhausting to acclimate to a new job, new building (where my cousin apparently works, as I found out when we ran into each other Wednesday morning), new gym and new community.

Given my brain overload, my creativity in the kitchen has been minimal. I’ve made old favorites to at least have leftovers for lunch, but nothing hit the spot. After three nights of cereal for dinner, though, I decided enough was enough. Plus I get restless when I don’t get to try new recipes.

I’m not ashamed to admit (primarily because it was pre-pinterest days when I didn’t really have income) that I used to be a pro at Hamburger Helper. I hadn’t thought about it, much less made it, for quite some time. Yet for some reason when I came across the homemade cheeseburger helper recipe on pinterest, I couldn’t resist.

I should throw in the caveat that the original blogger did — this isn’t healthy Hamburger Helper. It’s just a bit heathier. Thankfully my kickboxing class tonight helped me feel a little less guilty about the indulgence.

The recipe is really straightforward. Just based on my own preferences, I used a bit more milk and noodles to have a more balanced noodle-to-meat ratio. I’d also decided to only use a bit of the cheese. I’m normally not a fan of pasta leftovers since the sauce generally dries up, so my solution is to minimize cheese in the initial recipe so I can use a bit extra on the leftovers.

Helper

It was what I remember, but therein lies the downfall. The first few bites were good and then it started to lose it’s appeal. Part of that is because (at least in my opinion) the noodles are rinsed, making the dish seem a little too starchy for me.

But it was a new recipe and was much-needed comfort food after a long week. There’s always next week to try something a tad bit healthier…

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

