30 Before 30 revisited (again)

Nine months ago I published my 30 Before 30 List (which I then revisited two months later when I mistakenly thought it was my half-birthday). Since today’s my birthday, I figured it was a perfect opportunity to take stock of the list. Not only did I want to see how I was progressing, but I also wanted to re-evaluate some of the goals I’d set for myself.

Remember that article I mentioned about two months ago called Balance or Bust (probably not but that’s the best transition I could come up with)? That’s really what prompted me to look at my list with more purpose. There was one quote in particular that really stuck out to me:

“Why grimly stick with something optional that doesn’t give you pleasure? Simply to feel noble or be current or prove you’re not a dimwit? Bad reasons.”

That’s what some of my goals felt like. Actually, one goal in particular came to mind as I was reading that article: the IMDB top 250 list. I love watching movies, but rarely can I sit down and watch one by myself. It’s more of the social activity that I find enjoyable, and really I was watching the movies so I could claim that I’ve seen “classic” movies. Bad reason. And giving up soda for 90 days? It would probably do me some good, but it’s absolutely something optional that wouldn’t give me pleasure.

With this new mindset, I nixed five of the goals (new ones are in pink text). I actually took a few from another blogger who created one before he turned 25 and then before he turned 30. And even though I’ve only fully completed six of them, I’m still feeling pretty good about my progress. Especially given how major some of them were — like the 5K. Before too long, though, I’m going to have to stop changing my goals…

Career
1. Start the process of becoming a certified life coach
2. Publish in some capacity DONE! (though it’s somewhat cheating…)
3. Volunteer with a new nonprofit organization
4. Find a work mentor
5. Obtain a new job, ideally public health related DONE!
6. Reach out to nonprofit consultants to chart a path to get to that career
7. Join a professional organization

Health
1. Train for and run a 5K DONE!
2. Attend a meditation retreat or silent day
3. Buy a bike DONE!
4. Get a full physical / health assessment
5. Log 2,000 miles (currently at 590 miles)

One Time Events
1. Take a community education class
2. Adopt a dog
3. Have a technology-free weekend 
4. Watch a movie in a theater by myself DONE!
5. Travel abroad
6. Do one random act of kindness for a stranger
7. Go to a non-work related conference
8. Type up my baby journals and publish into a book DONE!
9. Create and maintain the quotes/life lessons journal
10. Host a dinner/holiday party

On-Going Efforts
1. Read 100 books (just finished my 30th book last week)
2. Find a way to permanently store/organize all my photo and mementos
3. Write a memoir
4. Visit 7 new states so I’ll have visited 30 states total  (three more to go!)
5. Write and send 30 homemade cards to family and friends (halfway done!)
6. Finally organize my iTunes
7. Participate in a book club
8. Hit 500 blog posts (this makes 378)

I’ve also decided to do something a little unique today (although technically it’s not all that unique since I’ve done it before). While I was on a googling spree for new goals for my list, I saw a tumblr photo that said write a note to yourself to open on a milestone birthday. How awesome would it be to open up a letter from myself on my 30th birthday once all my goals are (ideally) completed?

Another year older, hopefully another year wiser!

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

