Skinny is subjective

I don’t know if it’s the weather (prior to the last couple of days, mind you!), stress or all the celebrations this month, but my food cravings have not be healthy. At all. It’s actually getting to be a bit concerning.

I’ve been trying to find healthier alternatives, though by the time I actually dish it up, it doesn’t seem all that healthy. Case in point? The skinny crock pot pizza casserole I made on Monday night. In retrospect, it probably just means it’s a slightly healthier alternative to what it could have been in full calorie form.

This is likely a dish that could be made without a crock pot, and with this recipe, it could likely be done in about the same amount of time.

That being said, what I love about crock pot recipes is that it makes it easy to coordinate going to the gym in the evenings. Because of my commute (and the fact that my small crock pot does not have a low setting…) I can’t put something in the crock pot to cook all day. Instead I generally put everything into the pot right when I get home from work, go to the gym and then come home to something that smells amazing. This also helps in eliminating the whole do-I-eat-before-I-workout dilemma. 

But I digress. Back to the pizza casserole.

I took a slightly different approach with the directions. I started by making the pizza sauce I made a few weeks ago for the pull apart pizza bread (apparently I’m on a pizza kick, too). Instead of mixing it all together in the crock pot (primarily because mine is relatively small), I put the pizza “toppings” in with the sauce while it was simmering. 

It could be because of the sauce I used, but I found I needed a lot more water than just half a cup. Thankfully that was easily remedied once I got home. A few minutes later, I had this deliciousness.

Pizza pasta

The combination of flavors was fantastic, primarily because I love turkey pepperoni and italian ground turkey sausage (or whatever the actual name is). I should have gone with the sliced instead of diced black olives, though. Otherwise it turned out to be a dish that I even like as leftovers. In fact, I won’t have any left by tomorrow. That’s big for me!

I’d probably prefer the pull apart pizza bread to the pizza casserole, but this wasn’t a bad alternative. Let’s just hope that next week I start craving something a little healthier…

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

