Thankful Thursday #10

I’ll be the first to admit that I don’t do well with inclement weather. Not necessarily because I don’t like driving in it or the messy aftermath, though both are partially true. I mostly dislike it because it means I’m essentially under house arrest. It means cancelled plans, not being able to run errands and trying to keep myself from going stir crazy.

But for the first time in quite awhile, I’ve been thankful for just that.

In the last five days, I’ve been holed up for three — one for ice and two for snow. I thought I’d be angsty as all get up by this evening, but instead I’m feeling rested and relaxed. It’s amazing what happens when you’re forced to slow down.

What’s been really nice, though, is the extra bit of sleep. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: my Fitbit is amazing. It doesn’t always track my sleep accurately, but the sad thing is that it probably over-estimates the amount of sleep I’m getting. That’s alarming considering that when I looked at my stats for January this past weekend, there were only three nights were I got more than eight hours of sleep…

Ouch.

It was also quite the coincidence that a few hours later (when I was brooding on Sunday about the fact that my week plans were likely going to be screwed up), I saw a link for this article. I’m very much guilty of the “I know I’ll be tired, but I’ll just make up with that with caffeine.” Hence the coffee bar in my office at work… And the fact that for Christmas I got a one-cup coffee maker, a french-press type maker and seven pounds of coffee.

I may have a slight problem.

But this year I promised myself I would take a more well-rounded approach to my health, and that means getting more sleep. Having good health isn’t just about getting my butt to the gym five times a week, though sometimes it’s hard to convince myself of that. Even though my physical health may have suffered these last few days (something about snow days just makes me want to bake and curl up on the couch with Netflix…), my mental health got a huge boost (though I’ll feel even better once I get back to a spinning or kickboxing class…).

As someone who is notorious for biting off more than she can chew, sometimes it’s nice to have to slow down. I’m thankful I’ve had a few days to not feel like I have to run around like a crazy person. Plus I seemed to accomplish more work than I perhaps would have at the office. It’s amazing what happens when you only have one document up on your computer at a time instead of eight… (although I should confess my Excel document had about 9 worksheets).

Truth be told, even though I’m thankful for these last few days….winter can seriously end any time now!

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

