Practicing patience

My make-ahead meal for this week isn’t nearly as healthy as it’s been in recent weeks, but you win some, you lose some, right? It was also prepared a day early, in part because of the Super Bowl but also because I didn’t have a lot to occupy my time during my iced-in house arrest.

This week I opted to go with  lasagna cups. Let me be upfront that it probably wasn’t worth all the extra effort, especially given how messy it was to eat anyway. But it does make me feel I have a slightly culinary talent, though really what it boiled down to was patience.

I merged their tomato sauce recipe with the pizza sauce one. I did add another can of diced tomatoes and the ground beef so it felt more like pasta sauce. I’ll admit I wasn’t particularly fond of the cheese layer, though it could be because I made modifications. I’m actually not a huge fan of ricotta cheese and usually prefer to use cottage cheese instead, which is how my mom makes it. Plus I didn’t really want to use the cream cheese deal they recommended, so I nixed that.

When the roll-ups were finally put together, I breathed a sigh of relief. They actually turned out much prettier than I thought.

2014-02-01 19.11.50

Like I said, it was messy to eat, but it made for really great portion sizes.

single cup

I can’t say I’d make these again, but I feel like I stepped my game up, at least in terms of presentation. It’d be fun to bring to a party or potluck, though the general messiness might cancel it out…

Now let’s just hope the weather cooperates this week and I’m able to bring it to work for lunch!

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

