Comforts of home

Friday night plans did not pan out like I thought. A celebratory outing and dancing was instead replaced by sweats, Netflix, wine and delicious comfort food. All thanks to freezing rain. Not ideal, but at least it gave me a chance to try a new recipe.

The other day I was scouring pinterest and nothing looked good. Then I came across easy pull apart pizza bread. Finally something caught my attention.

I cheated a bit and decided to put the pizza sauce in with the other ingredients, in part because I thought it would end up being somewhat dry otherwise. And not that it made it any healthier, but I did opt for the reduced fat biscuits and turkey pepperoni. After a few weeks of eating salads, chicken and quinoa, I was ready for something with real substance. And this absolutely delivered.

pull apart pizza

Knowing me, I couldn’t just get a jar of pizza sauce. In comes the homemade pizza sauce. I made a few modifications, primarily because I wanted extra sauce for a recipe I’m making later today or tomorrow. I doubled the amount of tomato paste and added a can of diced tomatoes seasoned with basil and oregano. I also threw in a tad bit of sugar, since I’ve seen that in a couple recipes for pizza sauce and it’s included in the sauce I’m using later. Best pizza sauce I’ve made to date! (I’ve done it three or four other times.)

homemade sauce

This hit the spot more than I can say. I’m even excited to heat it up for leftovers a little later. Hopefully by then the icy roads will be a little less dangerous so I can go about my day. But if not, I’m perfectly content with my current set up of coffee, books and fleece blanket on the couch. Maybe this crappy weather isn’t as bad after all…

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

One response to “Comforts of home

  1. Pingback: Recycled recipes | Life After School

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

