TV munchies

I’m not ashamed to admit that I’ve been sucked into The Bachelor. Primarily, though, it’s because I get to spend an evening with Lindsay and we generally try out a new recipe or two.

Lindsay mentioned a lentil and mushroom meatballs recipe (not sure if that’s the exact recipe, but I figure it’s close enough) last week and I’d been looking forward to it ever since. I didn’t so much cook it as I was there for morale and sauce-stirring support. We were a little hesitate to try them but both ended up loving them. It was a much healthier alternative to meat sauce or meatballs. You can tell a slight difference with it, but for the most part, it has a really similar consistency to meatballs. 

meatballs

For dessert we made blueberry oatmeal cookies. Now this is from a girl who doesn’t bake cookies. Bread, yes. The occasional cookie in a mug? Sure. But cookies I tend to leave to other people (although I’m not really sure why).

While the recipe is supposedly clean eating, I think I made it less clean with one of my substitutes. I didn’t want to buy coconut oil, so after some quick googling, I found out I could use butter instead. We also threw in dried cherries as well (it was quite an ordeal finding dried blueberries, which were much more tart than I anticipated).

Since I love oatmeal and all things grain, it’s no surprise I loved the cookies. The end result was a cross between granola bars and cookies. We’re hooked.

oatmeal blueberry cookies

These recipes are certainly going to be sticking around longer than most of the ladies on The Bachelor, let me tell you!

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

