Future project

It’s been awhile since I’ve posted something inspirational, and this one may be doubly exciting (at least for me) because it gave me a new project of sorts.

This morning I noticed a thoughtcatalog article that I fell in love with for all sorts of reasons. First, I love that it’s a sentimental, handwritten memento of someone. I’m with the author in that it might seem a bit odd to give as a graduation gift, but years later it proves to be such a treasure. Especially since it’s handwritten. It’s almost like the baby books my parents had for me.

Second, I love that it’s full of quotes and life advice/wisdom (which should come as no surprise). It’s inspirational, but it also makes it that much more meaningful in knowing what stood out for that person. What comment did a teacher or professor make that stuck with the person? What lessons did they take away from their life experiences? What quotes from books or movies made an impact?

I’m a big believer in the quote “Maybe our favorite quotations say more about us than about the stories and people we’re quoting.” The middle made a comment over the holidays that she loves reading books after me if I’ve underlined things because it gives her a new perspective – not only on the book, but also about me. How fantastic would it be to have a compilation of those things, even if it’s only for me?

So naturally, I’ve become hell-bent on the idea of making one of my own. Not to completion, mind you, but something to develop and add to over the next few years. For years I’ve kept a quote journal (I’m pretty sure the middle and the little have them as well), but I like this concept more since it incorporates other pearls of wisdom she discovered on her own. Now to start crafting a fun binder or journal to keep it all in…

In the meantime, I’ll share some of my favorites from her list:

3. “If you are truly confident about something, you welcome honest questions about it.” – Peter Kreeft
6. Yes, quite often it is the case that bad people get good parking spots. Don’t waste your time being bitter about it.
7. Verb a word.
13. “People rarely change, but all too often become “more so” of a quality they always possessed but never expressed.” – Mr. McKeon
15. Understand the difference between procrastinating and taking time out to relax.
30. “Your values are defined by what you spend your time and money on.” – Dave Harvey
43. “Courage is resistance to fear, mastery of fear—not absence of fear.” – Mark Twain
44. Most people may in fact be boring or disappointing, but this doesn’t make them worthless.
45. The opposite of love is not hate, but indifference.

Who knows. Maybe some of these will end up in my own book/journal.

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

One response to “Future project

  1. Pingback: Four months to go… | Life After School

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

