Spoke too soon

The other night I decided to make a crock pot risotto while I was at the gym. The recipe looked simple enough and it required minimal ingredients from the grocery store (always a plus).

When I got home, I was ready to put the finishing touches on the risotto. I cheated a bit and just mixed the mushrooms in while the crockpot was still on (instead of microwaving it and then just putting it on top). I also didn’t add half-and-half at the end, and maybe that makes a difference.

For whatever reason, the risotto didn’t hit the spot. After a few bites I’d had enough and opted to have a bowl of cereal instead.

Despite not being a fan, I couldn’t bring myself to throw it out. It seemed like a waste and I’d probably guilt myself into giving it another shot. Sure enough, I did. Yesterday I pulled it out for lunch, and after throwing a bit of parmesan cheese and a range of Italian spices into it, I crossed my fingers and hoped for the best.

Thankfully it was much better. I don’t know if the added flavor helped or if I just wasn’t in the mood for risotto the other night.  I’m just glad I didn’t end up throwing out a whole crock-pot of risotto!

mushroom risotto

I do wish I would have added green peas to it. I meant to pick some up while I was shopping so I could throw it in, but completely spaced it off. That might add to the flavor, or at least make it a little more appetizing. Plus that’s typically what I associate risotto with since that’s how one of my favorite Italian restaurants makes it.

This weekend I also found out that I spoke too soon on the banana bread I made last week. It’s not quite as good as the blueberry bread, but I ended up loving it. I got a few extra bananas at the grocery store today just so I could make it again. Further proof that it’s always worth a second chance.

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

