A lighter fare

Another night of cooking, although this was thankfully a bit healthier. I was hoping to hold off on this for another day or two since I still have BBQ leftovers, but mother nature had other plans.

In addition to my craving for BBQ, I’ve also been wanting fettuccine alfredo It’s most likely because I meant to make it prior to going home for the holidays and I ran out of time (and by that I mean spacing out the leftovers since I wasn’t going to make it the night before leaving).

I’ll admit I was a bit nervous about this skinny fettuccine alfredo recipe. Usually cream sauces like this are hit or miss with me (probably because it’s hard for me to follow a recipe exactly and it either turns out lumpy or way too watery…). Plus I never know what makes or breaks a great cream sauce. Is it the half and half? Butter? And how would this recipe turn out with neither of those things?

Thankfully it turned out pretty well. It still felt like something was missing, but that’s probably what makes it feel lighter. Normally after pasta I feel weighed down, and I didn’t get that feeling with this dish. (Side note: it’s the first time I’ve used tongs to mix pasta and I had a ball with it!)

alfredo

I was surprised by how much I liked it, especially with the dash of Italian seasonings and red pepper flakes I threw in at the end. It also would have gone well with chicken and green peas just for a bit more variety. I’d say I’ll give that a shot next time, but I was to try the leftovers first before committing to it again.

fettuccini

Bon appetit!

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

