And my new word is…

I’d been really struggling to figure out what my word for the new year would be. I toyed with “reclaim,” but something about it just didn’t seem right. It wasn’t empowering in the way that I wanted and needed it to be.

Then when I was driving to the middle’s two weeks ago, the song “Dare You to Move” by Switchfoot came on and tears started welling up in my eyes. Then I got goosebumps when I came across the meaning of the song:

“It’s me talking to myself and I think a lot of times I feel stagnant and stuck in the same place,” says Jon. “And ‘Dare You to Move’ is kind of a song for myself to get me up and get me moving and tackling a new part of life.”

That’s exactly what I need this year (coincidentally enough, the little knew it would be that song when I told her I found my inspiration from my iPod). Plus it instantly made me think of Daring Greatly, and it’s no secret how much I took from that book last year. The daring concept just seems like an empowering “take control!” type of mentality that I need, particularly given the year I just had.

My only hesitation was that I didn’t know how to approach it. I struggled with what  exactly the expression should be. And do I dare to do something new each month? Are there specific areas in which I wanted to be daring through the course of year? It didn’t seem as simple as embrace, where I could throw the word embrace instead of a concept or goal.

Instead of worrying about that, I’ve decided to make this a year of daring myself.

Given the theme, I doubt I’ll outline 3-7 monthly goals like I did in 2013. I want to re-focus and key in on the things that are important to me, that I need to pursue with fierce passion (think consulting and life coaching). While I enjoyed my year of embracing, I also think I used my goals as a way to fill voids and feel like I was making progress in something, anything. And that’s fine and dandy, but it didn’t light a fire under me. It can also take time away from the goals that I really want to accomplish. 

That’s not me or how I want to live life. Last year I played it safe. I don’t want to go through the motions when I could really challenge myself. As I mentioned yesterday, I hit my fair share of rough patches last year but the silver lining is that it started the process of asking myself where I want to go. This year is about fine-tuning that and taking the steps to get there. Less talking, more doing.

I haven’t quite decided what my daring concept looks like or even crafted specific goals. What I do have, though, is the energy and excitement to start tackling the new part of my life. It’s scary, but I’m absolutely up for the challenge. It is back to being an even year, after all!

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

One response to “And my new word is…

  1. Pingback: A daring year | Life After School

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

