A year of embracing

Now that Christmas is over it’s time to focus on the new year!

Before going overboard on selecting the new year’s theme, goals and action plans, this month I wanted to reflect on my year of embracing. It was particularly interesting to go back and read how excited I was for 2013. Now I’m excited to see it come to an end (which sounds a bit depressing, though in some respects it’s warranted).

One thing I can say for sure is that embrace was the right word for me. It’s hard to put into words why, but it just felt like a good theme and approach to have at this particular juncture in my life. And oddly enough, each monthly theme had it’s own place, time, and purpose. Nothing stood out as being the best or most beneficial. That in itself is pretty great given the wide range of goals and themes I’ve had throughout the year:

  1. January: Simplicity
  2. February: Self-Love
  3. March: Balance
  4. April: Taking Control
  5. May: Appreciation
  6. June: The Work Week
  7. July: Positive Change
  8. August: I decided to nix the monthly goals…
  9. September: Starting Points
  10. October: Challenges
  11. November: Fun
  12. December: Lessons and the Process

I’m torn on whether I’ll do monthly goals again. In some ways it helps because I tend to lose interest in certain goals/themes and it’s nice to have that “reset” button when a new month hits. I also liked having the opportunity try different lifestyle changes, for lack of a better word, to see what works well for me. If I tried to tackle all my goals in a year, my resolution list would be a little hefty, to say the least.

All that being said, it’s hard to continually be thinking about what’s next and planning ahead (which in turn makes me lose interest in the goals I was supposed to do for the current month…).

That could be why I loved having the over-arching goals, and it’s likely that I’ll stick with them or something similar for next year. This little ditty was placed on my refrigerator right next to my 30 Before 30 list as a reminder. I probably need more concrete direction with the mental health and social wellbeing categories, but all things considered, it was good to fall back on this year.

Goals

I’ll for sure have a fitness goal in 2014, though I’m not sure what that will look like yet. The problem with this is I felt guilty if I didn’t hit the 55-mile goal. But right now, having not hit that goal three months out of the year (it would only be two if I’d get my butt to the gym to log just 8 more miles….), my monthly average is 60 miles. I should celebrate that, not feel guilty. I may also need to change it up given I’ve had the same goal (just different mileage goals) for the last four years.

While it was definitely a growing year, I’m hoping next year is a little easier on me. Actually, I mostly think I need to get a little more focused on the big picture of my life. And I think I’ve got just the word/phrase in mind for it. Stay tuned!

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

