A few of my favorite things

This has got to be one of my favorite craft projects, especially as a meaningful gift. I’m absolutely going to be making more of these in the future. And to anyone else who wants to make one, hit me up!

As I mentioned earlier this week, Lindsay is starting a new job next month. Her last day at the office was today, actually, and I don’t think it’s fully hit me that she won’t be there when I get back after the new year. For the last two and half years she’s been my other half and rarely is there a project that I don’t have her right next to me to brainstorm, write/edit and get super giddy about data. Plus we’ve been through a lot together, professionally (presenting at a national conference!) and personally (many a life chat with this lady). It’s going to be weird not starting each work day with my work wife.

Given all of that, I wanted to give her something a little sentimental for Christmas. Ideally I also wanted it to be something she could put in her office. For the last two years, our bulletin boards and picture frames have been filled with photos of us (I promise we’re not vain or self-obsessed!) so when I spotted a monogram photo collage on pinterest, I had my answer (minus the minor fact that my one experience with mod podge did not go well, so I had to enlist the help of another friend).

It was actually really fun trying to organize and arrange the photos. Although I definitely realized we take more selfies than anything, which posed a few challenges with the small space of the L. Thankfully I had a nice mix of photos over the years to make it all come together. And now Lindsay’s always got a little bit of me in her new office!

Ls

It wasn’t until I saw the finished project that I decided to make one for the middle as well and give it to her tonight so her SO could also see it (and waiting until Christmas would disrupt the equal number of presents for distribution). Initially I hadn’t planned on making this since I ran the L monogram idea by her and she seemed indifferent about it. But I figured if she didn’t like it, I sure as heck would keep it. I love my little doggie niece!

This one was a little harder to craft because of the angles, but I’d say it turned out to be pretty adorable. Although I will confess that it was hard to pick just a handful of photos to include. And looking at them all made me want to squeeeeeze her. She’s such a cute little cuddle bug!

mocha

I wish these photos did the monograms justice, but you’ll have to trust me on this one. One downfall, at least with the wood letters I purchased, is that there’s not an easy way to hang it. I’m sure if I put more thought into it I could come up with some type of solution, but my brain is fried after two busy weeks. Plus it would look just as great propped up on a desk or bookshelf.

(Normally I’d include the middle’s reaction to the gift, but I cheated and had this post drafted earlier in the day and scheduled to post, knowing full well that once I reunited with the middle and little tonight, I wasn’t going to want to take time out to blog. But I couldn’t wait to share this successful crafting endeavor!)

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

