Crafting & cooking for co-workers

I do love alliterations!

Knowing my love for crafting and making presents, I’ve been getting lots of questions from friends and co-workers about what I’m creating for presents this holiday season. Little did they know that some of my creativity was being used for them!

I surprised everyone at the office and my adopted grandma with holiday goodies, and I thought presentation would sell moreso than my baking. I came across a lot of really cute cookie containers, but this was the winner.

A friend of mine and I crafted the bags on Friday night, which in itself was interesting. The red nose was traced with a tablespoon, the snout area was traced with a spoon cooking utensil and the eyes were outlined with a headband oval. If I would have been smart I would have printed off the actual example and traced that instead… Hindsight is 20/20, right?

Reindeer

Early Sunday afternoon was dedicated to baking, which was a  really relaxing way to wind down the weekend. And what did I bake, you might ask? Really simple things. Like embarrassingly simple to the point where I almost don’t want to link the recipes, but with limited time and culinary skills, you make do.

Our first treat was a Christmas Cake Mix Cookie. While we couldn’t find the strictly red and green M&Ms, I’m still glad we made this recipe. Super delicious! It almost tastes like a brownie without being as thick and filling.

We also made your standard puppy chow. I was a little nervous to make this since the middle is ridiculously good at it and I didn’t think mine would even come close. We toyed with the idea of making gingerbread puppy chow or mint chocolate puppy chow, but when you’re making treats for 12 people, we figured it was better to stick with basic recipes. I couldn’t resist and threw in some green sprinkles to make it a bit more festive. And for being my first batch of puppy chow, it wasn’t half bad!

Picture 1

All in all, I’d call it a success! Plus the element of surprise is half the reason I do it anyway. What’s better than a cute reindeer bag with chocolate goodies sitting on your desk along with a personal note when you get to work on a Monday morning?

Stay tuned for more Christmas crafting. My sugar and caffeine high for the morning is slowly fading…

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

