Holiday aftermath

Part of the downside of the holiday season is that after a couple days of indulging, my taste buds are kaput. Nothing sounds good. I don’t even want to cook. Given the roll I’ve been on with cooking, it was a bit disappointing.

Knowing I had to eat something and not wanting to eat out for every meal, I picked what sounded the most appetizing at the time: chicken lo mein. The perk? It’s ridiculously simple. I loved that I could throw everything into a pot and then essentially walk away for half an hour to do other things. The downside? After two bites, I was over it. I’d blame the taste buds, but I also think it was just lacking.

lo mein

I also may have been disinterested in it because it was somewhat heavy. I got enough of that over the Thanksgiving break, so lately I just want light foods. Cue the salad. I don’t know if I’ve blogged about this before (I didn’t realize how much I’ve blogged until I went on a quest to find one stinkin’ recipe… It’s almost hard to believe I’ve tried that many new recipes!). Given how much I love it, I’d rather blog about it twice than not at all. Say hello to the spinach, apple and pecan salad.

I won’t lie — I changed it based on what was already in my fridge. Instead of a spinach salad it was just an American blend and I used almonds instead of walnuts. The salad dressing went unchanged. It doesn’t look appetizing, but I can assure you it is.

salad

Hopefully I’ll find my groove again with fun foods. Until then, I’m sticking with boring and bland.

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

