Still got some fight

Words cannot express how much I love the overall message of this article. I mentioned yesterday that I’m trying to embrace uncertainty and usually use my crazy goals/lists as a crutch to maintain some semblance of order and progress in my life. This is why:

Sometimes I feel like all I’m doing is fighting through one uncertainty after another; one thing after another. I feel like I’m constantly running a race, or maybe swimming and trying to keep my head above water. I feel like I’m taking steps forward and having to take those same steps backwards. Every day, I feel like I’m fighting.

Let me tell you, it’s exhausting. Maybe it’s my personality type or inherent ability to analyze and re-analyze and then over-analyze everything, I don’t know. It’s not at all uncommon for me to chat with the middle or the little, only to get a comment like, “I’m exhausted just listening to you!” But no matter how tired and discouraged I get, there’s no giving up.

Because no matter how many times we’ve hit rock bottom during these years, if we’ve awoken the next day, we’re already doing better than we can possibly imagine. These years are hard and uncertain. And every day that you are able to get out of bed and go into the world and learn something, and create something, and be useful and kind to someone – no matter how small, no matter how insignificant – you’re doing really well.

In other words, baby steps. I don’t have to solve the world’s problems or have my life figured out. And maybe that’s where my lists come in handy from time to time, so long as it’s not overkill. It’s an opportunity to make sure I can learn and create and do something unique. Perhaps we’re all doing a little better than we think.

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

