Embracing lessons and the process

It’s a day late, but spending a day driving limits the ability to blog. At least it gave me ample time to think about what I wanted my final monthly theme for the year to be.

After going back and forth about different options, I felt like embracing lessons learned and the process was the most fitting. When I picked the word embrace almost a year ago, it was because I wanted to embrace a new way of looking at goals and resolutions. I didn’t want progress to seem so cut and dry about whether I was successful or not.

I was reminded of that again when the middle sent me this interesting article last week about 30 Before 30 lists. Her favorite quote from the article was also one of mine: “Is life about checking some items off a list? No. It’s about living—in whichever way and on whatever timeline works for you.”

In some ways I think I’ve forgotten that. I want to make the months/years count, but I also can’t live my life based on some checklist. And really, I think I focus on checklists when I feel like I can’t control much else in my life. It shouldn’t necessarily be a crutch, though. One of my hopes for this year was to learn to embrace certainty. At least to the best of my ability.

Given my grand intentions for my year of embracing, this month I want to take stock of what I’ve accomplished. More importantly, though, I want to reflect on and pinpoint what I’ve learned through the process. What habits and discoveries will I take into the new year? Has my mentality changed? How can I fully embrace what’s left of the year, and really make sure that I have the right mindset to embrace the uncertainty, challenges and exciting changes ahead in the coming years?

I found a quote a few weeks ago from Caroline Myss that I think perfectly reflects what I’ve been trying to do with the embrace concept all along: “Just let go. Let go of how you thought your life should be, and embrace the life that is trying to work its way into your consciousness.”

I’m not where I thought I’d be at this point in my life, but by no means does that mean I’m not where I’m supposed to be. It’s all a matter of perspective, and it’s perspective that I hope to gain this month. Where am I at right now in life, and how can I be fully content with that? Like I mentioned almost a year ago, how can I learn to embrace my life instead of always trying to improve it so that it’s more in line with what I thought it would be?

It’s time to embrace a month of self-introspection and life chats (two of my favorite things!) amidst the hustle and bustle of the exciting holiday season. And hopefully through all that I can figure out what my word for 2014 will be!

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 241 other followers

