Baking breakfast, dinner and dessert

As I was typing up this entry, the movie I have on in the background had a line that went, “No husband, no kids, so I bake.” Couldn’t have said it better myself (and I only really mention that because the three dishes I’m blogging about are baked and it feels like I’ve done a lot of baking lately).

Last week (better late than never, right?) a friend and I attempted cheesy chicken roll-ups. I was a little nervous, and thankfully she took on the responsibility of rolling up the chicken. With all the melted cheese and spaghetti sauce, it was fabulous. I only wish the picture did it justice.

Cheesy Chicken Roll-up

I did throw in a bit of swiss cheese since I had a few slices leftover from the chicken cordon bleu recipe. We did learn that it’s better just to buy the thin chicken breasts. I bought normal as well as the thin to see which folded better. While I liked the thickness of the normal chicken breast, it was harder to roll. Plus the thin breasts didn’t need to be cut in half, saving a step in the cooking process.

In retrospect, we should have paired it with pasta instead of potatoes, but now I’ll know for the next time I make it.

Roll-up

I finally got my bearings in order between Friday night and Saturday after a busy, stressful but on the whole successful two-day conference. With the cold weather I had the urge to bake, but I also wanted to make sure it was relatively health. In came the healthy pumpkin bars, which I hoped would be slightly more successful than the bars I made last week.

Pumpkin Bars

I was surprised that it didn’t have as much pumpkin taste as I was hoping it would. One of the downsides is that because of the frosting, the bars need to be refrigerated. That being said, I actually thought the bars tasted much better after they’d been refrigerated than they did warm. Let’s hope my adopted grandmother likes them, too!

Pumpkin bars weren’t my only comfort food this weekend (so I forced my little booty back to kickboxing today…). Last weekend as a post-race celebration breakfast, I got a biscuit with sausage gravy. So delicious! Unfortunately, I’ve been craving them ever since. This morning I decided to be a bit daring and make a country gravy breakfast casserole. I opted for turkey sausage instead and only use half the amount of eggs, in part because I wasn’t sure if I would like the eggs in there to begin with.

It doesn’t necessarily look appetizing, but let me tell you, it tastes delicious (assuming you like biscuits and gravy, that is).

Casserole

I’m torn about the eggs being in the casserole, but we’ll see what my adopted grandmother thinks. Off to deliver the fall foods for an early Thanksgiving treat!

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

One response to “Baking breakfast, dinner and dessert

  1. All about meal planning! yum!

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

