Focus and finish

Tis the season (too soon?) for making progress on my 30 Before 30 goals!

Today I officially registered for my 5K. Cue panic.

GOTR

Technically I’ll be ready, but I’m still nervous. Especially since I saw there’s a 40% chance of rain/snow that day… But what can you do? Chances are the 5K in South Dakota the day after Thanksgiving won’t have favorable weather. Or favorable conditions physically given it’s the day after Thanksgiving.

This is going to be a mental test more than anything and not necessarily in the way that I thought. My frustration is that while I’m definitely gaining endurance, it doesn’t feel like I’m improving on speed. That probably comes with time and more training, though.

And to be honest, it wasn’t until the 5K got closer that I even cared about that. The mental struggle used to be convincing my legs to keep going when normally I would just stop.  I think what shifted my mindset is knowing the 5K is with other people. In the last two months, I’ve only done one of my runs with someone else (unless you count the three gorgeous labs I’ve had at various times). Running on my own helps me pace myself and focus on completing it, making the mental aspect easier to handle.

Perhaps I’ll surprise myself, though, and having Lindsay there will probably work in my favor. I  keep thinking back to the librarian’s comment that I shouldn’t make it bigger than it is. It’s not about how fast it’s done — it’s about accomplishing it. That’s the ultimate measure of success I was looking to gain. The fact that I’ve stuck to training for two months is already great in and of itself (and in 6 days I can cross off the training part of the goal!).

I’ve also been making strides on other goals, like marking another homemade card off my list. I’m about one-third of the way through my goal of making 30, and as promised, I thought I’d share the final products. I almost feel like it’s cheating to count the top left and top right separately since they’re so similar, but we’ll see how the remaining cards go before I decide to tackle an “extra” one.

Cards

For the next batch I’m hoping to get a bit more creative so it has more of a professional feel.  I haven’t attempted anything fancy yet since I have very limited crafting tools/supplies (but thankfully my mom has a lot from her years of scrapbooking so I’ll have to raid her craft area when I’m home for Thanksgiving…).

I’ve also got two more major goals in the works that I should hopefully get to give updates on in the near future. One is meant to be a Christmas gift so I’m moving it higher on my priority list. Between that and the 5K, I’ve decided my mantra for the next few weeks is going to be “focus and finish” (props to the co-worker who shared the phrase with me!). It’s time to get ‘er done, as they say. Or something like that.

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

