Embrace fun

I think I’ve been taking life a little too seriously lately. Like Lindsay, I seem to be analyzing, dwelling and trying to over-plan nearly every aspect of my life. And it’s getting to be exhausting (probably for my family and friends as well…).

I was looking at my calendar for the month, and I figured November is the perfect time to embrace fun. Not only will it be a much needed change in my go-go-go / goals personality, but it’s approaching my favorite time of year (minus the cold weather). It’s time to slow my roll and just enjoy life.

Having fun doesn’t really require goals. It does, however, force me to forgo some of my introverted tendencies to cope with stress by camping out at home. Take last night for example. I was beat by 8 pm and wanted nothing more than to crawl into bed with a book a cup of tea. Knowing I needed a little fun, though, I’d made plans to attend a haunted house with Lindsay and the librarian.

Holy cow. I got spooked just waiting in line. But it was a blast! Thankfully Lindsay screams and jumps just as much as me and we spent most of the time wading through the darkness with our arms interlocked and laughing. It was absolutely what I needed.

Here’s what else I’ve got on my “agenda” for the month:

  • Run my 5K: That’s right — it’s finally here! I’m repeating week 7 just to be on the safe side, but in a matter of weeks this goal will be crossed off my list. (Confession: I’ve actually been tempted to cheat since my goal list just says to run the 5K which I could do outside or on the treadmill on any given day. Nowhere did it say anything about competing in one….)
  • Zumbathon! My regular instructor is finally back after a month of having subs. So next Friday evening I get two hours worth of zumba with her. Super pumped!
  • A four-day weekend trip to Denver with the middle. We’ve already mapped out bookstores, outlet malls and breweries.
  • Our annual state-wide conference. Lindsay and I co-chair the workgroup that plans and coordinates the two-day conference. We sold out on registrations last week and we’re putting the finishing touches on what should be a fabulous conference (and hopefully another fabulous presentation done by the two of us).
  • Glow spinning: This will absolutely depend on the instructor (one scares the crap out of me) but how fun would that be?!
  • Five days at home with the fam (again, sadly minus the little, though we’re skyping her in) for Thanksgiving.
  • Christmas shopping: I’ve been saying for weeks I need to get started and now I’ve got my head in the game for it. It’s not easy being a gift whisperer, but I secretly love it.

I won’t lie, it won’t all be fun and games. There will be some elements of stress and even a little bit of anxiety on my part (5K and the conference, specifically) and I can’t blow off responsibilities. All that being said, I’m excited even for those things because I love seeing hard work pay off.

I’m also hoping to factor in more outings to movies, coffee shops and restaurants. I’d been trying to cut down on some of that to save moola, but I miss it. I’m young and don’t want to miss out on opportunities in lieu of being responsible all the time. Sometimes it ends up being just what you need.

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

