Challenging goals

So much for embracing challenges this month… I pulled up my post the other day and had an “oh crap” moment. Here’s a quick recap of what I did (and didn’t) do.

DietBet: I was incredibly well-intentioned…and then wasn’t. Stress hit and I didn’t want the added stress of losing $20. Instead I took advantage of their refund, only to realize a week later that they just credit the money to your account instead of giving you the money back. Slight bummer, but it means I’ll rise to the occasion after all.

Stop procrastinating: I’m avoiding household chores as I write this and have yet to even think about November goals, so that pretty much explains that…

Present at a national conference: Done! I can’t say my nerves stayed at bay the entire time, but the day of I was much more calm than I normally am. Until about two hours before we presented, anyway. But thankfully it went over well and I’ve got that experience under my belt.

Get serious about my goals: This is one goal I didn’t shy away from, and thank goodness for that. I finally devoted time to researching a whole range of life coaching certification programs (and the scary price tag that goes along with it…) and I actually think I found the one I’m going to pursue. That alone makes me feel much better.

Although I’m a little bummed at my lack of success, I’m trying not to be too hard on myself. There are times when I need to attitude up but there are also times when (at least in my experience) I have to take a step back and take care of myself. On top of all the other stress going on, taking on more challenges is probably the last thing I needed.

Bread is also probably not something I need more of, but how could I not make strawberry banana bread with blueberries? (How was that for a transition?!)

Last night I decided to make it since I had bananas and strawberries left over from last week. It doesn’t quite measure up to my blueberry whole wheat bread, but it’s probably my second favorite. I will admit it was a bit much, though, to have strong banana, strawberry and blueberry flavors. Maybe that’s what makes me like the blueberry bread the most.

bread

I may not have embraced challenges quite in the way that I hoped, but you win some and you lose some. At least a new month is near, and it’s a month that includes a trip to Denver with the middle and a few days at home with the fam (sadly minus the little). Now if only I could figure out what to embrace…

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

