Tried and true

Any time the middle or I were feeling under the weather growing up (not sure about the little’s favorite soup), chicken and dumplings was always on the menu. Given my body is not happy with me as of late (on top of that, why does the 5K training jump from 10 minutes to 15 minutes of jogging just like that?), what better meal than soup?

I’m not a huge soup fanatic, so it’s often hard for me to find one worth making (plus you know me and leftovers…). I found a recipe for a chicken noodle and wild rice soup and since it seemed comparable to my chicken and dumplings, I thought I’d give it a shot.

Initially I thought about cutting the recipe in half. But I really didn’t want to worry about cutting the box of wild rice in half or finding something to do with the remaining chicken. Back to full recipe it was.

I did reduce the amount of half-and-half, in part because I usually feel guilty using it in any recipe, much less soup. It could probably even go without half-and-half, which I wish I would have realized before making the soup… Oh well. I also added corn and seasoned the chicken for a bit more flavor, which definitely helped.  I’ll also mention that I didn’t use frozen egg noodles, primarily because I already had a normal bag on hand.

Although I love thicker soups, I was surprised by just non-soup like it seemed to be.

chicken noodle and wild rice

It almost tasted more like a pasta dish than soup, but it still really hit the spot.

soup

I may add more chicken broth to it to make it seem more like soup, but at least I’ve found another tried and true dish to whip up this winter. Maybe I’ll have to freeze some since I’ve got quite a bit of leftovers…

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

