Hopefully healthy options

I couldn’t even tell you the last time I had a sloppy joe, but for some reason when I saw a healthier recipe for it on Pinterest last week I wanted to make it. The fact that it only took a few minutes to whip up last night certainly didn’t hurt matters, either.

Ground turkey

 

The recipe said the ground turkey mixture would even be good on spaghetti squash, which I could definitely see. From a sloppy joe standpoint, it seemed to be missing something. It could be that I don’t use peppers, though I think my main issue was that it’s ketchup based, and it got to be a bit much. Perhaps adding in some tomato paste or sauce would help add a bit more to it, or at least make the ketchup seem a bit more subdued.

 

 

Sloppy joe

I kept dinner pretty basic so I could save room for dessert: healthy strawberry oat squares. I’d been wanting something similar to my blueberry oatmeal wheat bread and this was the perfect substitute.

The smell of it alone was amazing. Whipping up the strawberry filling made my kitchen smell fantastic (though I should confess I’ve been hooked on pancakes lately so maple syrup hit the spot anyway). Holy cow.

I love anything with oats, so there probably wasn’t any way I wouldn’t like the end result. I probably would have used slightly less peanut butter (and technically it should have been almond butter but I didn’t feel like making the investment) since it the strawberry and oats alone would have sold me, but it probably helps in holding everything together. I’d also likely nix the top crumble layer. Given how magical the strawberries smelled, I was hoping that would stand out a bit more. But it was still great nonetheless.

Strawberry oat bar

I should also mention they aren’t kidding when they say wait until it cools before cutting. I may have had a casualty or two…

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

