Home sweet home

On a somewhat impromptu decision (making plans on Wednesday for a Friday trip generally isn’t my MO), this weekend I made the venture back to South Dakota. And it was exactly what I needed.

It was somewhat strange — I think this weekend marked the first time since I moved to Missouri that I’ve been home without a holiday. I kept feeling like we needed to prepare for Thanksgiving or something, but thankfully it’s not that late in the year and I’ve still got that to look forward to next month. For the first time in who knows how long, I got to see leaves still on the trees on beautiful fall days, which made for a scenic 5K training workout with this gorgeous labrador.

Kona

It’s also a rare occasion that I’m home without the middle and/or little. While it made for a rather quiet house, it also meant the parents spoiled me a bit and I didn’t have to compete for the dogs’ attention. I also got lots of R&R, despite having limited bed space. But let’s be honest, I wouldn’t have it any other way.

doddies

The other perk of the weekend is my mom and I found a great fall/winter drink. While I’d had mulled wine at a holiday party years ago, it never really crossed my mind to actually make it. Clearly I’ve been missing out. We kept our concoction pretty straight-forward — wine from the winery we went to on Saturday afternoon, mulling spices and apple cider. I even got to use my cute new coffee mug (instead of being obsessed with shoes, I’m apparently obsessed with coffee mugs…).

Mulled Wine

We added cinnamon sticks to it last night when we reheated our batch and it made it even better. The middle is becoming a connoisseur with sangria, so I may make mulled wine my speciality. It doesn’t quite have the comforts of home, but a warm fall drink certainly makes for a cozy night. ❤

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

