Embrace challenges

I have to confess…I almost completely forgot about my September goals of embracing starting points. Thankfully I wasn’t too ambitious with my goals so I managed to complete most of it (though I need to finish my ingredients for a joyful life list, which is on the docket for this week).

Given my post the other day about challenges, I figure there’s no time like the present to embrace them. Go big or go home, right?

DietBet: I came across the “program” (for lack of a better word) on twitter last week and was intrigued (another confession: I’m a HUGE fan of the Biggest Loser…and specifically Bob Harper, but that’s neither here nor there…). When I emailed the link to the middle I didn’t think she’d seriously be up for it. I was wrong. Starting October 4, we’re part of a DietBet with 220+ other people. I wanted to take control, and now I’ve got a pretty dang good reason to be watching what I eat a little more closely. (PS – there’s still time to join if there are any takers out there….)

Stop procrastinating: I’ve probably read this article five times now, and the first few times I either shook my head or rolled my eyes (or both) because I couldn’t buy into it. It’s likely because I’m the type who likes to dive into a project. I’ll block off a full day or two at work to focus on a specific project or give myself an evening to work on chores around my apartment. But maybe there’s some truth to the article’s logic. It’s often said that the first step is the hardest, and that’s likely the principle behind the two minute rule. So this month I’m going to see if it holds true for me since I can’t seem to focus for more than five minutes to save my life. Never put off until tomorrow that which you can do today! (That’s a little pep talk for myself…)

Present at a national conference: Lame and kind of a gimme, I know. Lindsay and I present at a conference next week and it’s a pretty big deal for both of us. My hope (and thus the challenge) is to not have the anticipation get the better of me (I’ve already had one nightmare about it) since we’re feeling confident about our project. Regardless, in 10 days it will be done and I’ll have a big accomplishment under my belt.

Get serious about my goals: It’s no secret that I want to be a life coach. Every time I start researching it, though, the cost scares me away and I never make any headway. I really just need to sit down and face that challenge head on. Even if I can’t afford it now, what’s my game plan for getting it done in the next five years or so? Can I start putting away money to save up for the certification? Same goes for nonprofit consulting. I’ve met with two consultants so far as part of my 30 Before 30 goals (and it was fan-freakin’-tastic!) but again, what’s my game plan? While I can’t necessarily embark on these goals now, there’s no reason I can’t start some of the leg work today. Otherwise my challenges may grow and I’ll still be wanting to start these things ten years from now.

I’m hoping I can rise to the occasion this month and start taking the bull by the horns, as they say. It’s going to be a challenging month but it will most certainly keep things interesting. So in the words of Barney Stinson, challenge accepted!

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

